Margaret’s Beautiful Cover

Last week, Brit and I checked our respective mailboxes to find, in the words of our publisher… our very first copy of our very first book!

(Well, actually, I was out of town and saw Brit’s copy first via FaceTime, but the experience was no less exciting when I got home a few days later.)

Holding Margaret and the Moth Tree in my hands as a real physical book, I fell more in love with the cover art by Elly MacKay, an artist based not that far from me in Owen Sound, Ontario.

Elly works in an art form called “paper theatre,” which involves setting up “layers of drawings, on a small scale, like a very tiny stage set or installation” and then taking a photograph of the scene. So like the artist’s other pieces, Margaret’s cover is actually a paper “set” that has been lit and photographed. Stunning!

You can read Elly’s thoughts on Margaret here 🙂 And take some time to wander through her website and Etsy shop to see more of her gorgeous paper theatre art and learn more about her process.

 

behind the scenes of Elly MacKay’s “paper theatre”
Don’t you just want to step through this picture and sail away?

 

P.S. Happy birthday, Brit!!!

4 thoughts on “Margaret’s Beautiful Cover

  1. Hi Kari,
    I think that might be the most magical use for paper and ink I have ever seen. It’s like a dreamscape. Cannot wait to read your book! I have a feeling it will become a staple in our house!!!
    xo
    kim

  2. This is so exciting, Kari! I’m so proud of you! I hope to see many more children’s book from you (& your sister) — you’re creativity is boundless.

    Congratulations,
    Laura xo

  3. Thank you so much!

    Elly – we’d both love to meet you too! Let us know if you’re ever passing through Toronto or New York. I’ve already put Owen Sound on my list of places to visit sometime.

Leave a Reply

